A Hand-Made Sign

I am so excited that my business, Personally Yours, seems to be taking off. I have my beautiful new business cards and Facebook Page, and I even have the customers!

Screen Shot 2013-01-21 at 2.47.51 PM Screen Shot 2012-12-30 at 6.32.47 PM

My same wonderful friend (E) who “commissioned” me (doesn’t that sound so official?) to make these tags for her daughter’s birthday party also requested that I make a sign for her house based on this sign:

Blessing Sign by Aimee Weaver Designs

Blessing Sign by Aimee Weaver Designs

I love making items for E, because she is so easy-going and laid back about it. She just wanted it to be an off-white sign and black lettering with the same idea of making the “food,” “family,” and “love” in different fonts. The only other contingency was that it needed the sign to be 6″ x 60″. This is for the space above her kitchen window, and although she had extra space there, she knew that it needed to fit in that size to make it work and be able to be seen. What a challenge! I love challenges!

So, I went shopping for the background and we found that Home Depot sells great pieces of wood in their hardwoods and plywood. It was already cut in a 6×48 section, and I knew that it was perfect. Yes, it’s not the full 60″, but I felt after seeing it that any larger would be too disproportionate.

I got some Glidden flat wall paint in the sample size (plus, I have a ton left over for more projects later) in an off-white color, and I was good to go. Just a couple of coats of paint, some Oracal 651 vinyl, and I was finished! Now, I just have to drill some holes so that we can tie ribbon to it to hang. I am so pleased with how it turned out.

IMG_3003

Maybe once it’s up, I can get a picture of it in place!

This entry was posted in Do-It-Yourself, Friends, What's New? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Hand-Made Sign

  1. Erika says:

    You can totally get a picture if it place when it’s up. Can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

