Restaurant Review: Genghis Grill (Short Pump)

Tonight, we went to a truly terrific restaurant: Genghis Grill. Yes, it is a chain, but it is one that we had not been to before.

The new Short Pump location *

(Okay, I lied… I went there once before taking Tim – my fourth grade teammates and I celebrated a day off with lunch there.)

Instagramming Genghis Grill*

Now, this was a meal during the busiest night: Saturday. When we walked in, Tim saw how busy it was and mentioned to me, “If it is a long wait, we aren’t staying.” We told the hostess that we had a party of two, and she responded, “Two or three minutes!” It only took 1 minute until we were seated.

Because I had been there before, I figured I would explain the process to Tim, thus saving our waiter from having to explain it to the both of us. Basically, you go in, and you have the option of picking an appetizer (very inexpensive, but we decided against this in order to be cheap). We just ordered an iced tea and water (mmmm).

At this point, the waiter asks if you have any allergies, as they want to be sure that all patrons will feel comfortable. I made the mistake my first time of saying that I do have allergies (yes, I am technically “allergic” to many different foods, but it will not cause anaphylactic shock, so it really will not affect their cooking process), but I learned and did not make that statement this time.

Next, they bring you a metal bowl, and you can enter the self-serve area. You will pick from all different kinds of meat, spices, and veggies and fill them in your bowl. You can pick as much or as little as you want. Just as long as it doesn’t overflow, you can stack the food high! I personally love the chicken and broccoli, and I even went back to fill the bowl higher, since no one was behind us.

The veggies! *

This is heaven for me. *

Spices *

The final part of the self-serve area is the sauce bar. You will put as much or as little of it in a side bowl. They have little taster spoons, so you can try before you decide. I am a big fan of the Honey Soy. Yes, I did try a huge spoonful of it first “just to be sure.” Mmmm!

The final step is to go to the grill, and select which type of starch you want: white rice, brown rice, fried rice, Asian noodles, or spiral noodles (they have tomato sauce as one of the sauce options for the pasta lovers). They will mark that on your ticket, at which point they will ask if you have any allergies again. I also took this opportunity to ask for mine to be made with very little oil. Yep, they will do that for you!

The grill *

Before heading back to your seat, you can grab an antibacterial toilette (this germaphobic girl was so happy) and some sesame seeds or other toppings.

At this point, I also went to the bathroom while we were waiting for the food to come out. They not only have those great super-strong hand driers, but they have something called a StepNPull attached to the door. Literally, you step on it, pull back, and you can open the door without getting your newly-washed hands dirty.

20121020-230207.jpg

OHMYGOSHWHEREHASTHISBEENALLOFMYLIFE!

When I got back to the table, one of the managers approached us with a bowl of edimame. He asked us if we liked it, explaining that he was testing the kitchen staff to make it, and they did. This meant they had some edimame and no table to deliver it to. We must have looked especially kind that day, because he brought it to us. Let me tell you, it was DELICIOUS! It’s only $2.99 in the menu, and it would be worth every penny.

20121020-230159.jpg

I will be ordering it every time I come in from now on.

The food arrived shortly afterwards, and it was amazing. I was able to get a picture of Tim’s before he started eating.

20121020-230151.jpg

I could tell Tim just wanted to dig in.

Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend Genghis Grill to anyone in the Short Pump area. The service was quick and good (in and out in about 30 minutes… on a Saturday night), food was delicious, and it was as healthy or unhealthy as you wanted it to be. Plus, we got out of there in under $25! This is a new favorite, and I can’t wait to bring my family the next time they are in town.

20121020-230226.jpg

Mine!

*Picture from Genghis Grill Facebook page.

20121020-230242.jpg

A horribly fuzzy picture.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Do-It-Yourself, What's New? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Restaurant Review: Genghis Grill (Short Pump)

  1. Oh boy…you sold me! We’ll plan on it next time we are in Richmond. Thanks for the super review. My mouth is watering!

Leave a Reply

