Wedding Flashback: Making Pocketfold Invitations

This post was originally published on February 9, 2009:

I’ll have to admit that I’ve been swept up in the pocketfold craze. I love that the guests will have this nice bifold to open up and see the invitation and all the inserts in a nice, neat, orderly fashion. Maybe it’s the teacher in me that has to have organization, even with my invitations.

That being said, as much as I love pocketfolds, I did NOT want to pay for them. If you were to buy them from a professional, they could cost from $3-10 a piece for the invitations. That’s $300-1000! No thank you. If I bought the pockets from Cards and Pockets, it would be $1 a piece- $100 just for the folders. Plus I’d still have to get the paper, print the invation and the inserts, cut them, and attach it. Nope.

So what did I do? We made the pocketfolds from scratch. I’d seen some places online where you can get oversized paper and fold it and cut it to make the pocket, but that was too difficult for me. So we bought 500 sheets of black paper from ThePaperMillStore.com for about $30 (that’s 6 cents a sheet), and scored the paper, so it would fold in half.

img_3939

Then we cut out strips of black cardstock that was 2″ x 5.25″ and glued it on the inside of the folded paper.

img_3940

img_3941

Once the glue was dry, we put the invitation printout on the inside with photo squares and then lined the inserts up and put them in the pocket.

img_3738

The final touch was our monogram, which we printed onto sticker paper, cut out and stuck onto the front.

img_3737

After we counted up the printing and cutting costs (we used Kinkos and an office printer for this), each invitation was about $1. And we still had enough paper left over (white and black) for all of our ceremony programs.

This entry was posted in Do-It-Yourself and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

