The Hungry Caterpillar Diaper Wreath

About two weeks ago, a dear friend and coworker asked me to make a diaper cake or wreath for her daughter who is having a baby girl this fall. The baby shower was this past week, so I don’t have to worry about spoiling surprises anymore. After talking about the different options, we decided to go with a diaper wreath with a book theme. Sharley went out shopping for the book and a “lovey” to go with it, and look at what she picked out:

The Very Hungry Caterpillar! So cute!!!

With that, I went shopping for my goodies to make the wreath.

Lots of ribbon at a cheap price at Walmart:

A 12″ wire wreath from Michael’s:

And a pack of size 2 diapers (also from Walmart). I got size 2 so that the wreath can be decoration still while the baby is truly a newborn. By the time Baby will need a size 2, Mom will be okay taking the wreath apart. Hint: Target has adorable polka-dot Target-brand diapers, but since I was already at Walmart, I bought them there.

I then went over to the back of the baby section to get all kinds of adorable add-ons for the wreath. My directions were to keep it simple, without a lot of additional baby items. Then I found all of these fruit items in the right colors, and I had to have them. I especially loved the items that had the wholes in the middle, just as if the Hungry Caterpillar took a bite out of them!

Yes, I bought way more than I ended up using. I returned the extra, unused items.

The next step was to start diapering. I took each diaper, opened it up, and wrapped it around the two outside sections of the wire wreath form. I tied it together with about a 6″ piece of ribbon.

I was able to fit three diapers to each section.

I kept going all the way around, alternating the color of the ribbons.

I then cut out my pink ribbon. It was a LOT of pink ribbon.

Time to wrap it around the two inner wire sections.

It’s getting there!

After that, I took extra of the thin ribbon and wrapped it around the accessories for the wreath and attached it to the wire base. Because I only used a 12″ wreath form, I didn’t need many of the accessories.

I then decided that I didn’t like the messy look of the long ribbons. This ribbon was unable to be curled, so it was time to cut them short. I also decided that I wanted to tie one more ribbon around each diaper to make it look more like a piece of candy.

Here are some of the detail shots:

Congrats Sharley on your new granddaughter! I know she will be a beautiful girl, just like her mom and and grandmother!

This entry was posted in Do-It-Yourself and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hungry Caterpillar Diaper Wreath

  1. Pat says:

    This is adorable! You are so creative!

Leave a Reply

