Decoy Duck

When we were in Alabama in earlier this month, we went to a local store called Unclaimed Storage. The owner is like those people you see on Storage Wars, where they buy unclaimed storage lockers and sell their products. This store is a little different, as the owner just has contracts with the storage unit owners. When a renter doesn’t pay, he will cover the cost and legal work so that he can buy the unit and all of the items inside. No auction, just him.

Well, there were quite interesting items in this store. Not all of them were worth the dust that they were collecting. One thing caught my eye, though, and I have not been able to get it off my mind since. It was a decoy duck. These are what hunters use to trick the ducks. I have seen them a lot recently on our favorite tv shows, but something about this duck just called my name. Maybe it was the fact that it was in Alabama, or that we have been wanting to teach Lucy to hunt (as she was born to do). Or the peeling paint. Or the antique weight still attached to the bottom. Sigh.

There were 2 ducks there, priced at $65 each. They were from the 1920s, but they didn’t have any signature (with the right signature, these ducks can be worth thousands). They were both in rough shape with a wooden body, paint peeling, and a fixed broken head. The lowest they would take was $50. We were stubborn, and the lowest we would buy was for $40. They wouldn’t budge. I was heartbroken, but we left.

That was 2 weeks ago. I still am agonizing over leaving my duck in Alabama. I am hoping my family is heading back to Alabama so I can give them the $50 to pick one up. I even have a spot cleared off of my shelf just for him. Sure, it may be more than they are worth, but sometimes you just have to give in. Right? After all, I have been to many stores to look around, and although decoy ducks are not unique, I cannot find any that have that look or draw. EBay, Craigslist, Amazon, antique stores… no luck.

So, what do you think? Am I crazy for being willing to spend so much for something so ragged? Have you ever not bought something, only to change your mind and go to drastic measures to get it? Are you in love with this duck like I am? What should I name him?

20120716-201110.jpg

This entry was posted in Home, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

