My DIY Skirt

It is summertime! And because I’m a teacher for 9 months of the year, the first week of summer break means that I get to start on all of those projects that I have pinned on Pinterest during the school year.

I started the week by working on my first quilt. I will write about that in a separate post. It has basically been plagued with problems, including the death of my Singer sewing machine. I will write more about that in another post too.

I did just finish my first (completed) project, and I am so excited for it! It is usable, it is cute, and it is versatile! It is a cute, jersey-knit skirt! All together, the skirt cost a whopping $2 (I had gift cards to Hobby Lobby from my students). It probably would cost just about $12 of you are paying in cash. Cheap, too!

20120624-193824.jpg

I am planning on doing lots and lots of projects this summer, and I am hoping to provide how-to directions, just in case you want to make it yourself. Ready? This one is fairly easy (as long as you have a working sewing machine).

As the original directions state, I started with a piece of jersey-knit that was 1 2/3 yards long  and about 48″ wide. I laid it out on my craft room floor (where it picked up a bit of Toby the Cat’s hair… I need to vacuum), and I folded it over so that I was happy with the length. One of the layers was about 2 inches shorter than the other side. That’s when I ran into my first problem: uneven material. Jersey is difficult to work with, and when it is cheap, it doesn’t lay flat and hangs crookedly. Ick. So, I decided to use some pins and steam to manipulate the material to make it do what I want. It’s not perfect, but it was better.

Once the fabric was sitting the way I wanted, I took my safety pins and pinned the top of the skirt (where it was folded over), as well as a line of pins about 1.5″ lower, where I would sew the elastic pocket.

20120624-211531.jpg

20120624-211542.jpg

I then took my material off to the sewing machine. Where the edge of the fabric was, I sewed a row, just to create a nice, sharp point for the top of the skirt. I hardly had any seam allowance there.

20120624-211552.jpg

I then created another row to create the elastic pocket. The nice thing about this step is that I was just sewing a straight line. Easy!

20120624-211621.jpg

20120624-211639.jpg

Next, it was time to put the elastic in the skirt. For this, you need to put a safety pin at one end, so you can easily thread it through the material.

20120624-211650.jpg

Then, it’s a few minutes of thread, bunch, and pull. Thread, bunch, and pull. Thread, bunch, and pull. It’s quite relaxing, actually.

20120624-211702.jpg

20120624-211722.jpg

Once you get close to the end, slow down and don’t let the tip disappear into the fabric. To be careful, I safety pinned the fabric to the pin.

20120624-211710.jpg

Next, it was time to figure out how to size the elastic. Safety pin it, sew where the safety pin is, and then open that up and sew it again to make sure it won’t break after a big meal.

20120624-211731.jpg

20120624-211740.jpg

Next comes sewing the skirt all together. Because there are two layers of fabric, I sewed both of them individually. I decided to have the uneven ends face inside.

20120624-211751.jpg

Unlike the original how-to post, I had the shorter layer underneath to help prop out the skirt.

20120624-211802.jpg

Now, just pair it with a tank top (I just used a basic black from Old Navy circa 2004) and a chunky belt (thanks to Anthropologie, this was the most expensive part of the look), and voila!

20120624-193824.jpg

This entry was posted in Do-It-Yourself and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My DIY Skirt

  1. Markley Kautz-Scanavy says:

    You are so crafty! Great job!

  2. Kathleen says:

    very cute! love it with the belt

  3. elly tucker says:

    You are incredibly crafty and creative! What a cute skirt!

  4. Pingback: My DIY Pleated Skirt | The Doyles' Life Adventures

  5. Pingback: DIY Hokie Reversible Skirt | The Doyles' Life Adventures

Leave a Reply

